Saturday, 29 June 2013

Part 23 - Sections and Organization of Sri Vishnu Sahasranamam


Sri Vishnu Sahasranama Stotram as printed for chanting purposes consists of these sections:
  1. Meditation on Vishnu and Rishi’s (6 Slokas)
  2. A prolog, which gives the background on why the Stotram was imparted to the great and just Yudhishthira by Bhishma. This section contains the questions by Yudhistra and Bhisma’s answers to them.  (13 Slokas)
  3. Meditation on Vishnu continues ( 3 Slokas)
  4. Dhyana slogams ( 5 Slokas)
  5. The thousand names of Vishnu, organized in a poetic format in 107 stanzas, in the anushtup chandas, (a meter with 8 syllables in a quarter), with two quarters per line, and two lines per stanza.  (107 Slokas)
  6. The phala sruti, or a recounting of the benefits that can accrue by chanting the Stotram.  (22 Slokas)

VishNu SahasranAmam consists of 142 slokas (without meditation and Dhyana Slogams), excepting 13 slokas at the beginning and 22 at the end, the remaining 107 slokas contain the thousand names of God.


No comments:

Post a Comment